Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Guys, now that I'm really old, you have to help me cross the street.

Listening to: Bret, You Got it Going On - Flight of the Conchords

So, guess who's old now? If you guessed me, then you're right; I turned 20 this past weekend and it feels like it might take some getting use to. On the bright side I did get some pretty awesome stuff for my birthday, one thing being my new fabtactular Henry VIII and his Disappearing Wives mug from the Unemployed Philosopher's Guild!
It's so freaking cool! When you pour hot water into the mug, the wives disappear and their names and dates appear in their silhouettes! It's genius! I swear, the Unemployed Philosopher's Guild has my new favourite historically hilarious products ever. I've suddenly realized I've bought several things from that particular company in the last few months (mostly because the bookstore in the my university's town has several of the awesome things!). Besides the mug (which my parents got me), I've bought a Charles Darwin finger puppet/magnet and the mints that are just too funny right now, the Anti-Establish Mints! It's really funny because I'm taking a course on the French Revolution right now, so it just makes those mints a thousand times funnier.
It's not a great picture of the Darwin magnet, but the one I took is quite huge so this will have to do I suppose. I also bought Clover a Dali finger puppet for Crimmus, and for Sunny I bought some Hieroglyph-it's (they're post-it notes in Egyptian shapes haha, yes I am that cool a friend). All of this stuff makes me giggle like a prepubescent girl at pop concert. I kind of want the Edgar Allan Poe Little Thinker beanie guy, he's cute! He has a tiny raven, what can I say?

The other day when I suppose to be writing my history paper, I actually realized that the Decemberists have videos for some of their songs. It's kind of funny, but I never really thought of them as the video making type, but then again, who doesn't make videos these days?
I have to say my favourite was for 16 Military Wives where the band is acting as a model UN group who's taking it really seriously, and Colin Meloy is the US representative. Seriously, this video is hilarious. "I declare war on Luxembourg!" Because America can, and America does.
Although, I do enjoy Colin Meloy in an elevator by himself singing We Both Go Down Together, it's kind of funny how he has to stop playing to press the buttons everytime th
e door opens.

Dear Colin Meloy, you are awesome. I hope you bask daily in your own awesomeness.

Does that sound as stalker-ish as I think it does?

Thursday, November 13, 2008

Update of sorts

Listening to: Love, Love, Love - James Blunt

Wow. So okay; once again it's been a while since my last post. Things are pretty great here, my new uni friends are pretty fab and, well, okay I dislike my suitemate, but I've found out that I can choose my suitemate for next year. While here, I've been introduced to Flight of the Conchords and, just recently (like 10 minutes ago) Jill gave me a link to Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog on YouTube. Seriously, the best thing ever. NPH is quite awesome (I love him in How I Met Your Mother, which I also found out this weekend has actually published a book, the infamous "Bro Code"), and he's a remarkably good singer. So do this right now for me kids: go to YouTube and look up Dr. Horrible. Heck, why don't I make it easier and just give you the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=apEZpYnN_1g
Also, the best thing ever was making one of my friends watch Hot Fuzz, which she surprisingly had never seen. It was hilarious. She's watched it at least 12 times since then; she's now also able to tell us word-for-word the entire movie. We've began to notice that our Classics prof looks a lot like the doctor, so we're afraid that he'll whip out some guns one day to make people pay attention (hahaha).

I'm quite sad in the way that I'm lacking the funds to go see James Blunt in concert, as he actually coming to Halifax. Nobody (with the exception of the Rolling Stones, Ozzy and Elton John, respectively) ever comes to Halifax to play. But sadly, it's either education or concert of awesomeness. What's a girl to do?

Oh, yeah, I've also started another blog, this time I'm going to be "reviewing" books that I've read, just basically posting my musing about what I've read. The name is a work in progress, I'm not completely satisfied with it, but it works for now.

Cheers!


Saturday, September 20, 2008

I really don't have a clever title this time round...

Listening To: Yankee Bayonet (I Will Be Home Then) - The Decemberists

So, sheesh, I'm already done my second full week of classes. Wow. And I'm home for the first time in three weeks. I've missed my darling puppy sooo much! And of course my parents, but they've come to see me quite a bit since I've been at school, and I talk to them just about every night on the phone, so it's easier not to miss them as much (that sounds really horrible of me), but I do miss them when I'm at school.

Anyroad, since I've been at school I've already joined what I feel like may turn out to be too much for me to handle along with classes; I've signed up for the Classics and History societies and I've signed up to do copy-editing for the university's independent newspaper, and I also write a weekly article for it (This Week in History). I don't mind the article writing, but the copy-editing may become an issue later on because it takes a big chunk out of my Mondays.

Right now the only thing I find frustrating about my classes is Latin. It's horrible. I took Latin in high school in grade 12, but one year later I'm taking it at university and I'm having a ridiculously hard time picking it back up. I don't know if it's because the pace has changed, or what it is, but I'm kind of sucking hardcore. I used to be really good at translation and stuff, but now I'm doing horribly. Hopefully things will start to look up eventually.

P to the S: if anyone does actually read this blog, you should definitely check out a British indie band called Scouting for Girls. Do I ever love them, yes I do.

Tuesday, September 2, 2008

Bread and Circuses

Listening To: people down the hall from me talking

Wow, so the last post I made wasn't actually me. The Emo-Child that hides in the deepest recesses of my brain, complained and cried it's way out and stole my laptop. That's my story.

Anyroad, that was....while actually, that was quite a while ago. Anywhoodle, I'm now at university. Wow, I know. Finally.

Just for the record, never do anything that before-hand makes upperclassmen give you that smile that makes your stomach drop. You will get covered in condiments, corn starch, oatmeal and carbonated beverages among other things. You will have to throw out the clothes you were wearing because it makes you want to throw up and could not possibly stand washing them in your bathtub. And then your mom will get really mad at you for throwing these articles of clothing out. And you feel terrible about it, even more so then you already did.
That was my terrible initiation experience in a nutshell. But I did, however, get a free water-bottle out of it (that has my house's theme and the year printed on it). Meh.

BUt in other university-type realted news, for anyone who does care, I have mostly keep my promise to Sunny about not being a hermit! I've made 2 friends for the most part and I try to talk to people. I even went to breakfast by myself today, whereas the last 2 days, I haven't. YAY me.

Classes start TOMORROW!!! Gah!

P to the S: the bread and circuses (for those of you who do not know) refers to the activities the school does to keep the frosh's minds off of home and to keep them busy until classes start/until the upperclassmen come.

Friday, June 27, 2008

Gah!...people and life

I seriously don't understand anybody.

One of my best friends came to visit me tonight at work. I thought she was going to her dad's for the weekend, but nay. She told me that her ex-boyfriend from university was down. Okay, backflash. I distinctly remember another one of my best friends telling me that this friend had possibly had sex (which really surprised me) with this ex. So apparently they're friends with benefits? I wouldn't know. I generally end up getting second-hand news and guessing most of the time. Nobody seems to tell me a damn thing. Except Clover. (Unless it's a boy issue, then I'm completely useless, with the exception of a casual suggestion on how I would approach the issue).
Anyroad, apparrently this friend told her mother that she was staying at the other friend's house tonight, when in actually is spending the night in a HOTEL with the EX-BOYFRIEND. Now I dunno about you, dear readers (or reader), but this spells TROUBLE to me. Also friend told me she had a terrible feeling in the pit of her stomach that her mother was somehow going to find out she's not at other friend's house. Honestly? I hope that feels knaws at your stomach all night, friend. BAAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!!

Also, one of my guy friends is acting weird around me. I don't know if it's become obvious that I sort of like him like him, or what. Last Saturday when we were at a bar for Sunny's birthday, he, his brother, Femmebot and Clover had to leave early because they all had to get up early the next morning, so they all gave Sunny and I hugs before leaving, except him. He gave Sunny a hug, but kind of waved awkwardly at me. So I waved awkwardly back. And then tonight, while friend and her ex-boyfriend were visiting me at the Card Shoppe, we thought we saw guy friend at the bookstore across the hall, so I yelled his name and lo - it was him. He held up the book he was buying and I was thumbs-up and whatever. Then he came over and the four of us discussed going to a bar tomorrow night (which Mati has just ruled out for me; thanks Mum), and suddenly the two of us were arguing about going to see Wall-E. He really wants to see it and I don't, because it looks like a snooze-fest. It was kind of dumb and so were we. I know none of this makes sense, but I feel better just writing it all out.

And then there's the girl I work with at the Factory (Donut happens to be under investigation by the Worker's Comp. Board...so yeah). She's all "I love life and my favourite colour is RAINBOW!" Newsflash: Rainbow happens to NOT be a clour, but is a multitude of colours, you clod-headed twit. Honestly, from what she's told me, apart from her "fantastic boyfriend," her life sucks, so I'm not sure how she can be so damn happy all the damn time. Maybe if I had a boyfriend I would understand this? But as I do not, I don't.

I used to think of myself as an optimist, but I do clearly see now that I'm a sarcastic pessimist. Who's 19 and has a damn curfew. I ask you! I also admit that I'll probably die alone and all any ever thinks I care about is the Beatles and my dogs. I think not. Whatever.

*sigh*

Rant completed.

Thursday, June 19, 2008

Vay-kay Day 1!

Listening To: Babooshka - Kate Bush

Today was quite relaxing, I must say. I got up around 9:45, which to Mati was fairly impressive. This was only so because Flight decided to crawl onto my bed to sleep with me after my parental units for work. She's so cute when she hogs the bed. She had me pinned against the wall, which made it really hard for me to get out of bed this morning. Needless to say, my back hurt for a good part of the day.

I printed off some things after I got up this morning for reference of a picture I want to draw/pastel. I'm kinda excited because I haven't actually art'd anything seriously since probably a year ago when school ended. Quite tragic, really. I also have another idea for a collage type thing of Alice in Wonderland. I've already bought playing cards and red paint for it. I need to find something sturdy enough to paste the playing cards to. Also something to stick the playing cards to this sturdy thing would probably help too....

Anyways, Clover and I went into town and "finished" shopping for Sunny's birthday. Which means we loitered a bit in the mall, had A&W Root Beer Floats, bought her card from the Card Shoppe and looked for tops to wear Staurday night. If Clover actually bought something for Sunny today, I honestly don't remember, and that, boys and girls, is sad. What's also sad is that I couldn't find anything to wear on Sat., but I do have a top I bought around Christmas that I can wear. Honestly, if it was anyone who wasn't Sunny, I think I'd probably just wear a t-shirt to the bar, but she likes everything to be "special" and dressy.
Sunny's also decided that since it's her birthday, we're going to the dance bar, instead of the one everyone else wanted to go to. And trust me, in Lame Town, N.S., the dance bar isn't any disco. They'll probably play an annoying amount of rap music. Oh well, I am excited for it though!

Anyroad, I'm off to check out Glogster! See if it's any good/if I can figger out them complicated gizzmos.

Sunday, June 15, 2008

For some reason I can't explain, I know St. Peter won't call my name...

Listening To: Viva la Vida - Coldplay

Okay, so wow. It's mid June. Ish.
And if you can't tell, I'm a little freaking excited for the release of coldplay's new album. Mostly because I'm too cheap to get it off of iTunes. I have downloaded most of the songs using another program, but there's something about actually having the CD that appeals to me. I'm kind of strange like that.

Still working at the factory, but I have a short vacation in 3 days, woot!! Also, Sunny's 19th birthday is this weekend and she thinks/knows she wants to go out, but doesn't want to hurt M2 and CJ's feelings by going "out" without them, because they're not legal yet. Which brings me to another lovely story.

I had my first actual acoholic drink (that I actually finished and slightly enjoyed) with a friend on Friday night (the rum and Coke that I had with Clover back in February doesn't count because I keep watering it down with more Coke). Clover needed to talk about her most recent confusing boy troubles and for her to talk, she requires a drink. Or two. So I agreed and decided to try a cooler. A strawberry daquriri one, in fact, and it was fairly decent. Which means I didn't hand it to Clover after 2 sips, but actually finished it by myself in about half-an-hour. Yeah, yeah, whatevs. I was impressed. (I don't really care for acohol, but I may be able to drink these cooler things, seeing as they're more sugar than anything). So hopefully the "bars" in Lame Town will have these. Oh yeah, like I know. When have I ever actually gone anywhere around here that rates as relatively exciting?
But the only thing is, I'll probably end up as the designated driver. Bah.

And I'm on a vampyre kick again with books. Haha, I'm damn cool. I've started reading the "House of Night" series, and it's sooooo good. It's practically like Harry Potter, but for girls and it's about a vampyre (the authors spell it this way) finishing school. Much more addictive than Twilight I must confess (I still like the Twilight series, don't get me wrong). But I am excited for Breaking Dawn which is coming out on August 2, so I have to make sure to pre-order it sometime in July.

VIVA LA VIDA in 2 DAYS!! :D

Friday, April 18, 2008

Must...go...do....something....

Listening To: L.E.S Artistes - Santogold

I have to get off this freaking laptop and do something. I'm determined to do something productive tonight. Actually quite a few somethings:

1.) watch "The Darjeeling Limited" before I have to take it back to the video store tomorrow
2.) watch an episode or two of "Arrested Development"
3.) draw character concepts for an Alice in Wonderland comic
4.) START AiW comic before friends go insane and kill me
5.) TRY to write Chapter 58 of Whyte Books

6.) eat something :)
7.) start laundry
8.) make FDR vacuum the upstairs

Hopefully I can get most of these things done before I decide it's time to sleep. I actually HAVE to do #'s 7 and 8 (ish).

READY? STEADY? TEAM SARAH LIFT OFF!
Oy.

Thursday, April 17, 2008

For Realz? Fo' Sho.

Listening To: I Need a Hero - Frou Frou

That's pretty much what Clover and I said when we were in DQ tonight and I spotted a preggo with a t-shirt that read "As Seen On Facebook." Fo'sho. Clover began laughing after we finished our brief gansta-lingo comments and said, "I guess enough people joined her group." Hehehehehehe. Clover I heart thee. That's why I bought you a Corona beer bottle lamp <3

In other news, I broke down and bought Season 1 of "Arrested Development" tonight, too. It was $20 cheaper than the last time I checked ($47.99). I'm vair, vair excited to start watching it. I saw the epsiode of Gob's chicken dance yesterday on CBC and laughed for a million years. And because they left the Anne (Hog, hahaha) in Mexico while looking for George Sr.
"Look! Two miles to Legoland!"
Hahahahaha, why was this show ever cancelled?

Now I have the impossible descision of choosing between watching "The Darjeeling Limited" or "Arrested Development" while Mati and Pati go grocery shopping and I hang out with the doggies.
What's a girl to do?

Sunday, April 13, 2008

"I love you too, but I'm going to mace you in the face!"


Just finished watching "The Darjeeling Limited." It stars Owen Wilson, Adrien Brody and Jason Schwartzman as three brothers, who haven't spoken in a while, on a train trip in India to "find themselves" and reconnect on their "spiritual journey." Their plans get derailed (thanks to certain incidents involving pain-killers, cough syrup, pepper spray and a poisonous snake). They get kicked off the train and are stranded with a whole bunch of suitcases and each other. They eventually do bond, find their mother and live happily ever after.

I might have to buy this movie. It was really interesting and had a lot of different things going for it. It wasn't straight-forward, but at the same time it was. Which was the exact reason why Mati lost interest after about the first 15 minutes and why Pati didn't really get it.

This isn't a very good review, but who cares? I like the movie and that's all there is too it.


"He says the train is lost."
"How can a train be lost? It's on tracks."

Monday, April 7, 2008

Juno Awards

Curse you Arcade Fire and you're pretty decent electronic alternative sound!

Overall, that's pretty much how I feel about the Junos. Tegan and Sara should have won for Best Alternative Album of the Year for "The Con."

Oon the other hand, I'm glad Feist took quite a few home. I've just started listening to her music, and I must say, I do rather like it.

Saturday, April 5, 2008

Blogging, Shopping and Mints

Listening To: Everybody's Changing - Keane

So, I've signed up on Tegaki E, a sort of drawing blog type thing. And I've re-realized who freaking hard it is to draw with a stupid mouse. Honestly, if tablets and pens didn't cost so much, I'd buy one. Also if I didn't have to get it off the interweb, that would be awesome. But if you have the need to peek at my pitiful doodles, take a peek here.

In other news, Clover and I went shopping. Again. Found a really cool handmade ladybug necklace for Sunny's birthday (and Clover had informed me several times tonight that her birthday is in 29 days). But Clover pretty much already knows what I'm getting her: a beer bottle lamp and a Chia Pet. Mostly for the appartment she's getting. Vair vair exciting times here.

I bought "Last Supper After Dinner Mints," too. They truly make me laugh a lot. There's a picture of da Vinci's Last Supper on the the tin and the mints are vair tasty. Much unlike the "Uncle Oinker's Bacon Mints" that Femmebot gave M2 for Crimmus, which are, in fact, quite disgusting. They actually taste like really cheap smoked bacon and toothpaste. Dis-guis-ting.

Moral of the story: never eat mints that have a pig on the package.







Friday, March 21, 2008

That's just kind of gross...

Listening To: Suffragette City - David Bowie

Hopefully no one will think I'm kind of defromed or something when they see my left eyelid. It's kind of gross.

I realized Wednesday night that it was slightly puffy and when I turned the light on in my bathroom, it was kind of purplish. Gross. Lisa from the Card Shoppe said it looked like a stye, but in comparison from the picture on Wiki, there's no pimple-like gross white thing on my eyelid. It hurt a little bit to close my eye all yesterday, but today it doesn't hurt quite as much.

Actually, I just squeezed my eye shut and it really didn't hurt at all. And the puffiness seems to be going down. Hopefully by tomorrow, it'll go down enough to look normal-ish.


Anyroad, I've finally applied for residence. CJ's quite certain that'll I'll get into the house I applied for. She said that I applied "early enough." I hope so, it's the same house that she's in and.......it's attached to the meal hall. That's right. And all the other kids are jealous.

And on top of everything else (including a $179 bill I have to pay for my car repairs), I've decided buy a new cellphone. It'll be good for when I'm at university. But I'm not getting any this texting nonsense. It's ridiculous. If you wanna talk to me, call, ya fecking idjit. Clover's really into texting. It's so dumb. I'm sitting there, trying to talk to her, when her cell makes that really annoying text ring, and she whips it out and has to reply right then and there. And it's only to her brother. Who's sitting in the next room.

What is the world coming to?

Monday, March 10, 2008

A Justifiable Reason

Seriously, this is a justifiable reason why Tegan and Sara are my favourite band. Well, my favourite band that has all members presently still alive (the Beatles are my ALL TIME fav band).

Tegan and Sara prove that Bruce Springsteen's songs have the potenial to sound sooo much better. Just kidding. They sound great in the first place, but this verison is just....wow.

Scrapbooking = effort: Part Deux

Listening To: Puttin' on the Ritz - Shiny Toy Guns

So, I've starting actually scrapbooking. It's soooooo time consuming. I've bought a bunch of junk (ie. sticker type things) that go with it. I've decided to do one for my European trips, so the thingys I bought are like little Eiffel Towers, double decker buses, etc. Anyroad, I'll post pictos (just when I thought I couldn't get any lazier, I combine photos and pitcures into one word. GENIUS).

In other news, Clover and I went to see The Other Bolyen Girl and I have to say, for as excited as I was for it, it was the most crap movie I've seen this year so far. The book was pretty good (no matter how many people scream that it sucked and blah blah blah), even though it is fairly historically inaccurate, the movie is far worse. The costumes were good (nothing compared to Elizabeth: The Golden Age, which I still need to buy, hehehe), but that's about the only thing that good. The acting was pretty bad (except of course Jim Sturgess *drools*) and the storyline jumps around quite a bit. All in all, I can't believe I wasted $10 for a shoddily made movie. *Sigh*

On second thought, Young Triffie was probably the most crap movie I've seen this year. Seriously, Canadians should just stop making movies. I think we're better at TV shows.

Best thing that happened last week: I got a friggin' entrance scholarship to University Y! Hahaha, eat your heart out competition!!

Sunday, March 2, 2008

Scrapbooking = effort

Listening To: California - Phantom Planet (OC Mix 1)

Seriously, why the hell did I ask for that scrapbooking kit for Crimmus? That was a bad move right there. I think it must have been all the paper. The woman on the Shopping Channel promised 10,000 pieces. Paper, paper, paper. I get distracted by things like that. So now I've got to do something about it.

I had my first taste of scrapbooking (ish) on Friday night. Clover and I decided to make flowers for Sunny becuase her man didn't buy her any for Valentine's Day. Clover decided we should make a card for her as well.

Let me just say how much I suck at making paper flowers. So I let Clover do that. I decided to make little paper people that looked like us to put on the card. And of course, I had a chocolate bar that Clover sold to me from her Cult of 4 H's. And a can of Cream Soda. And I was tired. Needless to say, I was on a sugar buzz, and couldn't concentrate on the flowers. But my people turned out good!

Looky look!


But seriously? The entire damn thing took us 4 hours to do! I don't really have that big of an attention span and my creative ingenuity begins to fail 3 minutes after I start something like that. Everyone makes it look so effortless (even Sunny's made a scrapbook). I know Clover and I kind of made one for Sunny's birthday when we were in Grade 10, but that was before Clover was really into it (actually, come to think of it, that's what got Clover hooked). Jill's good at it too! And she likes it!
Perhaps I'm too lazy. Hahaha, me? Noooooo....

Thursday, February 28, 2008

Paranoia? Not me...

Listening To: Science vs. Romance - Rilo Kiley

Alright, so I think I've gotten over a bit of my blogging paranoia, and I've changed the blog to feature my real name, not "Sadie." I don't think it changed on the comments I've made on Jill's blog, but I guess it doesn't matter, she knows who I am.

I need to get motivated to write Chapter 42 (jeez, already?) of Whyte Books. We need to get them back on track, ie. to the "Fever" episode. We're at forty posts and we're only starting the 2nd episode of Season 2. Crazy, I know.



Wednesday, February 27, 2008

kzsjghdkjhtruyerrjgfsduytf!!!!!!

Listening To: Silver Lining - Rilo Kiley

I'VE BEEN ACCEPTED INTO UNIVERSITY!!!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! HA! HA!!

And they sent me Origami paper.

Why?

I haven't quite figured it out yet.

BUT WHO CARES?? I'm going to university!!!

Tuesday, February 26, 2008

The Power of Three!

Listening To: Signal Fire - Snow Patrol
Donut Free Day #12

I found $20 dollars at the Card Shoppe on Saturday and no one's claimed it!!! So Lisa let me have it! SCORE times a TRILLION!

And I was going to try and save it and be "sensible" with it, but instead I went out and bought Season 1 of "Charmed." Gadzooks. And it was a liiittttllleee bit more than $20, but most likely worth it. It was my favorite show in junior high (even though I started watching it after Prue died). I didn't even intend on buying it: I was considering looking for season 1 of "Arrested Developement," but I didn't make it to the CD store in time before I was dishing out moolah for the Charmed Ones. Mati and Pati weren't too impressed, but who cares? It's not like I bought Season 2 of ROME (which btw is practically $100. And my b'day is sooooo far off. But I haven't finished S1 yet, so I'll wait and save).

In other news, Ellen Page was ROBBED. Actually, I'm sure Marion Cotillard is a good actress (I just haven't seen her movie, "La Vie En Rose." Maybe I should download some Edith Piaf.........or not. I almost wish Cate Blanchett had won. She's my fav-y actress in the entire world. Seriously, what other actress could pull off playing Bob Dylan? None, kids, none other than she. (I've yet to see "I'm Not There," but I've seen several clips on YouTube. Mati and Pati wouldn't get get it; they dislike Bob Dylan.)

Sunday, February 24, 2008

"So, learn french or die."

Listening To: Dancing in the Dark - Tegan & Sara

That line from "Across the Universe" kills me everytime. It should be the motto for the Quebec lisence plates. Why not, right? I mean, New Hampshire's is "Live Free or Die." But not everyone in Montreal speaks french, fyi. Tea and cake or Death, Tea and Cake or DEATH (little red cookbook!). Good God, I love Eddie Izzard.

So I've actually purchased a pair of skinny leg jeans. BF Clover and I both bought a pair Friday night, after we had dinner with Red and Wally. Kind of sad that BF Sunny didn't come home, but she did for Thanksgiving, so I guess she couldn't have her cake and eat it too (haha, more cake).

I've also gotten back into the habit of straightening my hair again, which I haven't done since last May or June. Sad really. Everyone at Ye Olde Card Shoppe say they like it that way and apparently it makes me look older. Apparently. So does that mean my rat's nest of curls make me look like I'm still in junior high? Haha.

I guess I'm in a much better mood. I've noticed that my first few posts were kind of rant-y. Definitely not a good thing. But then again, neither is eating 3/4 of a pint of Ben and Jerry's ice cream while watching a bunch of Romans kill each other. Words cannot express how well ice cream and ROME go together. It was glorious. Especially because Mati and Pati had gone to bed, so I could watch it in the conveince of my cozy room. All by myself. It was fantabulosa! Haha.

And if Donut's not at work again tomorrow, it'll be Donut-free Day #11. I'm really started to get a little bit worried about her.

Wednesday, February 13, 2008

Take Your Faith and Shove It

Listening To: Hall of Mirrors - Louis XIV
Donut Free Day #3

Serisouly, I'm really tired of hearing St. Peter from the factory telling me about church and and beliefs. He sits there, casually asking me about my ideas about teaching and where I'd go for a B.E. (not that I'm actually doing that anymore, but I haven't worked with him in like 3 months). Then he goes on to tell me about some teacher dude from the States who encourages the "outcast" kids in school who speaks at spiritual meetings. While I'm sitting right in front of him, trying to read a book about vampires and werewolves. Irony? Yes please. As far as I care, he can believe in this stuff if he wants to, but please do not press it upon me as I will not pay attention. Which I didn't. So he started talking to the guy next to him about God. It's like all the weird hardcore Christian people gravitate towards me.

I must have "Conform Me" written on my forehead or something.

I'll have to wash it off.

Tuesday, February 12, 2008

Tired, petulant and ranting

Listening To: absolutely nothing.

Today started off well.

My alarm clock goes off at 6 AM so I can get ready to go to work for 7:30. Unfortuneately, this morning, instead of hitting the snooze button, I accidentally turned it off. So I didn't wake up until 7:25. And I was 10 minutes late for work. Thankfully, my supervisor wasn't in today, so no inquiries. Donut wasn't there today, or yesterday either. Donut is the pinch-faced, over-medicated crazy old woman I work with at the factory. Seriously, she takes more pills than my grandmother (who takes like a freaking rainbow of pills). She's a nice lady, but let's face it: she's a few bananas short of a full bunch.

Then I had to rush home to get ready to go to my other job for 5 PM. While I'm doing the 100 metre dash to the bathroom, FDR (my brother, not the American president) is saying that I have to take him and his girlfriend (who lives like 15 minutes from our house and away from the main highway) to the mall with me. So I have to drive douchebag out to the middle of nowhere to get his girlfriend and then get back onto the main road and to the highway. But they make me take a short cut. I'm get to the mall and meet my boss who's coming out of the doors just as I'm heading in. 2 minutes late. Not bad (and not like my mall boss cares).

But then I have to drive FDR's girlfriend home. In the dark. On the crappiest road of life. Covered in snow. But no one bothered to tell me I had to until after the mall closed. And no one says thanks. No one even said 'hello' to me when we got home. Mati and Pati (my slangified versions of the Latin words for mother and father) were too busy on F-book (Facebook, otherwise known as Face-B).


On a lighter side, I mailed my application for university today (I've only had like 3 months to do it, but whatever).

Falling Into the Rabbit Hole

Litening To: The Greatest - Cat Power

I'm unfortunately clumsy like that. Nine times out of ten, I'd fall into the hole, not just simply jump in. Such is life.

I thought I'd give this whole "blogging" thing a go. A friend of mine has a couple (one of which is a flog, which I am a co-writer of) and she enjoys them (seemingly). I suppose it's like writing in a journal or a diary. Diary is a really girly/kid-ish word. Whatever.

We'll see how this whole deal goes.